Introducing Kelly Welsh (RIP, Rest in Peace)

Hello readers!!!  Welcome to Kelly’s Blog Hop –

I was tagged by the fantastic Scarlett Van Dijk lives in Australia and you can find her post here: http://www.scarlettvandijk.com/blog/character-blog-hop-introducing-skyla-book-guardian-core

BIOGRAPHY:

Scarlett Van Dijk was born in 1993 in Geelong, Victoria, before soon moving to South Australia. Her love of writing grew during her time at Wilderness  School, with her first novel, Sky Stone, begun at the age of fifteen. After graduating high school, Scarlett entered the University of South Australia studying the Bachelor of Medical Radiations (Medical Imaging) and will complete the degree this year (2014). While editing Sky Stone, Scarlett began writing the second book in the Sky Stone series, titled Guardian Core. Scarlett’s love for creative writing is accompanied by an interest in martial arts, reading, and desktop publishing. Learn more about Scarlett and her writing at www.scarlettvandijk.com.

Thank you Scarlett for your support of YA writers and for your contributions to the genre.

tumblr_mpxjtpn4Mf1rcpb4wo1_400

For those of you who haven’t met the teenage protagonists of my CUL8R [See You Later] series, here’s a little summary of their latest adventure.

RIP (Rest in Peace) by Bob Kat

You don’t have to believe in ghosts…until you meet one.

The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado has a well-deserved reputation for being one of the most haunted places in the U.S.  So, when Kelly, Scott, Austin and Zoey travel back to 1911 to try to save a young child who went missing from the busy lobby, they aren’t surprised when ghost children run up and down the halls.

There’s romance in the Rockies as they take jobs with the hotel so they can keep an eye on 4 year old Emma and her family.  Kelly struggles with her attraction to Austin while Zoey tries to get over her broken heart.  Along the way, they meet some colorful historical characters and experience life among the rich and famous just after the turn of the twentieth century.  After three other successful time travel adventures, they assume it’s just a matter of being in the right place at the right time.  That almost proves to be a fatal mistake.

But can they save Emma?  Or will they join her as permanent guests in the ghostly halls of The Stanley Hotel?

 

What is your name? Are you fictional/historical?

Hi.  My name is Kelly Welch, and I just celebrated my 16th birthday last month.  My friends and I have found a way to travel back in time when someone needs our help.  So, I guess you could say I live in the present, but I get to see what it’s like to live in the past.

When and where is your story set?

So far this summer, it’s been crazy.  A drunk driver killed my parents and now I’m living with my aunt in Fort Myers Beach, Florida.  I miss my parents with all my heart, but I’ve made some great friends and we’re having amazing adventures.  Already this summer we saved a girl’s life from 1966, spent a harrowing few days on an island we thought was deserted, but were nearly killed by a raving maniac back in 1980.  The most fun was when we joined a travelling circus in 1927 and kept a teenage boy from being thrown off a train.  I loved being around all those animals, especially the horses.  But things got really complicated when Zoey and the boy fell in love.  And now we’ve just traveled back to 1911 where we’re staying at The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado.  This was only one year after it was built, and I didn’t think it could already be haunted.  But I was wrong.

 

What should we know about you? 

I’m really ordinary with long straight, dark brown hair, hazel eyes and a few extra pounds that I’m trying to get rid of before school starts.  Of course, Zoey, one of my new friends is drop-dead gorgeous which makes me feel all that much more plain.  For some reason, Austin seems to like me just the way I am.  Wow, my heart beats faster when I just think about him.  He looks sort of like a young Ashton Kutcher, tall, dark and oh, so handsome.  We have a lot of fun hanging out, and he almost kissed me once.  I’m sure it’s just fun and games for him, but he’s my first major crush.  The trip to The Stanley Hotel was strange and wonderful and scary…but at least I got to spend more time with Austin.

 

What is screwing up your life?

I’m both terrified and excited about starting my junior year of high school.  I’ve always been home schooled, so it’s going to be a big change.  I’ve seen a lot of movies about mean girls and bullying, so I’m a little nervous that I won’t fit in.

And I’m really worried that my aunt will find out that we’ve been taking these little trips to the past.  We always think they’re going to be easy, but somehow things always get a little crazy and we barely escape with our lives.  If anyone ever finds out about how we travel, they’ll take it away from us and we wouldn’t be able to have the fantastic experiences.

 

What is your goal?

Ever since we found the Spirit Radio, a Thomas Edison invention that allowed him to communicate with dead people, my friends and I have been touched by the cries for help from people in the past who have unsolved mysteries.  I’d like to keep going back and doing what I can to keep these people from losing someone they love.  If only I could go back and keep my parents from being killed…but it doesn’t work like that, unfortunately.  So, my friends and I will have to careful not to get discovered so we can continue to save lives.

 

What is the title of your book?

RIP (Rest in Peace) is a romantic story of lost love, new love, mixed with a little mystery and a lot of danger.  I didn’t believe in ghosts when we arrived at The Stanley Hotel, but I did by the time we left.  Here’s a little blurb from the book about my first contact with someone not quite human.

Kelly forced her tired body into a sitting position.  “I’m not going to waste another minute when I could be sleeping.”

With an unexpected burst of speed, Zoey shot up and ran to the bathroom.  “Me first,” she called out before shutting the door.

“Of course,” Kelly muttered and let herself fall back on the bed.  That was typical Zoey.  Hopefully, she wouldn’t use all the towels.  Kelly tried to talk herself into getting up, taking off her boots and getting her things ready for bed.  But she was so tired.  Maybe if she rested for just a couple of minutes.  Her eyelids drifted closed…

She was walking outside among the guests with Austin.  Instead of the severe black and white uniform, she was wearing a soft dress with tiny pink, yellow and blue flowers sprinkled all over it.  The material was light and floated around her like a silky scarf blowing in the mountain breeze.  Austin, too, was dressed like a gentleman of the era in a tweed jacket and a jaunty driving cap on top of his dark brown hair.  He looked even more handsome than usual as he turned toward her and held out his hand.

He had held her hand before, but usually just to help her or keep her from falling.  This time, it was just because he wanted to…and that made her heart beat faster in anticipation.  She took his hand and savored the way his fingers wrapped around hers.  No wonder he was the star quarterback with fingers so long and strong.  He tightened his grip.

Ow…that was a little too tight.  She tried to get him to loosen it, but she didn’t want to complain for fear he’d let her go.  His fingers continued to squeeze until it was actually becoming painful.  She wanted to pull her hand away, but she couldn’t.  Tighter.  Harder.  She heard herself whimper.  She couldn’t bear it.  Her fingers felt like they were being crushed.  “Stop…please,” she cried.  “You’re hurting me.”

Abruptly, she woke up and bolted into a sitting position.  Her hand was throbbing and as she looked at it, she saw that it had the red outlines of someone’s fingers on the back…fingers much smaller than Austin’s.

The bathroom door opened and Zoey walked out.  “What are you shouting about?” she asked.  “I could hear it even with the water running.”

“Did you squeeze my hand?” Kelly asked, a little angry at being tricked.  “That wasn’t funny.”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.  I was in the bathroom.”

Kelly’s eyes narrowed suspiciously.  “You weren’t just out here?”

“No, honestly.  I’ve been in the bathroom with the door shut.”

Kelly lifted her hand.  The finger marks had faded, but were still slightly visible.  She thrust her hand toward Zoey.  “Someone was just holding my hand so tightly, it left prints.  Look!”

Zoey stepped closer.  Her blond eyebrows lifted as she looked at Kelly’s hand.  “It wasn’t me.”

Kelly flexed her fingers.  The feeling was just coming back into them.  Her voice quivered a little as she asked, “If it wasn’t you…then who was it?”

They both looked around.  The door was still locked, and there was no one else in the room.

 

So, when will the book be published? 

RIP (Rest in Peace) by Bob Kat is self-published on Amazon.com just in time for the Halloween season.  There’s no better way to celebrate the holiday than to curl up with a great ghost story…but keep the lights on.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR – Bob Kat

Bob Kat is actually a husband (Bob) and wife (Kathy – get it?  Bob Kat) writing team who are fans of romance, time travel and mysteries and love reliving their teenage years through the adventures of Kelly, Scott, Austin and Zoey (of course, without the time travel).  The series has won an amazing number of awards including Best Indie Book Young Adult of 2013 (OMG), Best Indie Book Young Adult of 2014 (BION), Reader’s Favorite YA of 2013 (BRB) and Reader’s Favorite YA of 2014 (BION).

Kathy has always been a storyteller.  She published her first book when she was just four years old…okay, it was self-published (way ahead of the trend).  The Little Black Horse That Ran Away was self-illustrated and completely sold out of its first printing (one copy to her mother).

Years later, Kathy’s first official book was published by Dell.  Since then, she had a total of 23 novels published by Dell, Crown and Harlequin and 9 novels self-published on Amazon.com.  She writes adult romantic suspense and new adult romances under the name Kathy Clark.

To be perfectly honest, Kathy and Bob would rather be riding horses or sitting on a white sand beach, reading a book than writing, but the characters in their heads insist that they tell their stories, just like that little black horse so long ago.

Find out all the details on WIKIPEDIAhttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kathy_Clark_(American_author)

authors us improved

kathy clark logo

Take advantage of our Newsletter offerings and The Thrill of Suspense street team http://eepurl.com/Z5ypX  via MAIL CHIMP

Bob Kat, AUTHOR

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the the entire young adult romance mystery series thus far and the all can be obtained through Amazon at http://astore.amazon.com/nightwriter93-20

000CUL8R SERIES

 

SITE:   http://www.thethrillofsuspense.com

BLOG:  https://kathyclarkauthor.wordpress.com/

FACEBOOK:   https://www.facebook.com/kelly.welch.cul8r

TWITTER:   @93nightwriter

LINKED IN:   http://www.linkedin.com/pub/bob-wernly-kathy-clark/a/357/597/

GOOGLE +:  https://plus.google.com/u/0/s/bob%20wernly

GOODREADS:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/150098.Kathy_Clark

PINTEREST:   http://www.pinterest.com/BobKat1993/

 

Leave a Reply

