What’s In A Name? Everything It Seems.

There’s something very satisfying about having decided on a title for a book.  In fact I cannot write the first word on the first page of the first chapter if I cannot write the title in first.

So imagine how hard it was, after having written 29 books, had 23 published and actually published six others myself, that I had the title all wrong?  It was an awful feeling and one that only the best of reviewers and friends would tell you. So recognizing what one of my husband’s former bosses who would say “if three people tell you to sit down you’re probably drunk”, well?

So book #1 in the SCANDALS New Adult romantic suspense series, BABY DADDY, has had a title change.  But before I divulge the change here are a couple of reviews that got me thinking.

“The title of this book is pretty awful but the book itself is actually pretty good. All in all, the only real negative things I can say about this book are the title and …” 

and

“This story pulled me in right from the start and ended up not being at all what I was expecting. Don’t let the title of the book fool you.”

Then the worse thing imaginable hit me this week while at my appointment at the Hair Central Salon in Round Rock Texas.  The really gutsy fans, readers and reviewers are the ones that will tell you straight away, Texas style, “I normally wouldn’t buy a book with that title but since I know the author, I did and I loved it.”  My husband and I don’t have a Wharton Business School MBA between us but some quick back of the napkin higher level math and we’re going to fall short of out $1 million a year income goal from publishing or we’re going to have to find a way to get more people to know us.

Bottom line, the title needs changed.

Sole searching with my co-writer husband, Bob, we concluded the recurring theme of the SCANDALS New Adult romantic suspense series is “date” and that the lead character in the first book, Killeen, is actually confronted with more than one critical due date in her immediate life.  That said, book #1 has been re-titled, DUES DATES and the cover is as follows:

DUE DATES AMAZON

And with book #2 now 75% completed, plus or minus, the planned title of TRAMP STAMP seemed doomed to experience the first book’s fate.  So book #2 will be named KILLER DATE and when you read about the details of the case that walked into the agency at the end of DUES DATES [remember the tramp stamp tat?] KILLER DATE fits the story well.

What about book #3?  Think about WORSE DATE EVER.

 

One thought on “What’s In A Name? Everything It Seems.

Leave a Reply

