NEW ADULT Book Release SCANDALS Series; BABY DADDY

NEW ADULT SERIES Releasing November 20th…SCANDALS Series Book #1 – BABY DADDY
 SCANDALS BABY DADDY 10282013
An excerpt…where Christopher and Killeen visit one of Christopher’s ex girlfriends trying to solve a murder. 
 
“Would you all want something to drink?” she offered.  “Water, coffee, soft drinks?”
“Not for me, thanks,” I said and a similar response came from Christopher.
“So how have you been?” the pretty doctor asked Christopher.
“Outside of Roger’s death…pretty good.”
“I still can’t get over that.  I thought he had given all that up.”
“Well, that’s why we’re here.  We don’t think it was an accident.”  Christopher leaned for back in his chair, but I could see he was watching her reactions.  “You might not have heard, but our building got bombed a few days ago.  I’m thinking the killer is close.”
“Bombed?”
“Our offices…kaboom,” Christopher spread his hands apart in an exploding pattern.  “One of Roger’s other kids, Liberty, was in the hospital for three days…almost killed her.”
“I had no idea.  Wow!  Any idea who might have done this?”
“We have a few suspects.”
Janet interrupted.  “Is that why you’re here?  On business?”  She smiled and crossed her legs and letting her skirt slide up her thighs.  “I was hoping it was because you missed me.”
I suddenly felt like they had forgotten I was in the room.  And it kind of pissed me off.
“I thought you were engaged.”
She held up her left hand so he…and I…could clearly see there was no ring on that finger.  “I realized he wasn’t the one.  So, I’m back on the market.”
Subtle.  Real subtle.  She was definitely not going to get my business.
“Good to know,” Christopher said.  “But today, I need to find your father.  Do you have any idea where he is?”
Janet’s body language changed as she crossed her arms across her chest as if she had suddenly felt a chill.  “You mean the man who screwed my mother, then walked away?”
That sounded familiar.  Completely against my will, I had a hint of empathy for her.
“Have you talked to him recently?”
“Recently?”  Janet thought for a moment before speaking.  “The Thanksgiving after the election Stephanie and I still hadn’t heard from him, so we hired Murray to track him down and see if he wanted to come home…you know extend him an olive branch kind of thing.”
“You hired Murray the frog!” Christopher exclaimed.
“He creeps me out too, but he fits in with the homeless scene,” Janet said with a little half-shrug.  “Anyway, Murray came back the week after Thanksgiving with a present from our dad but no contact information.”
“A present…?”
“It was a beaten-up old shoebox with dog shit wrapped in newspapers.  That’s the last we’ve heard from or about him.”
I could see that in spite of her tough-girl attitude, she had tears in her eyes.  I tried to lighten the mood.  “And I thought my Thanksgivings were weird.”
Neither Christopher nor Janet so much as glanced my way.
“So, no idea where he might be?”
Janet shook her head.  “Anywhere where there’s free food or a bar, I’d guess.  If we could do it over again…we wouldn’t.  When Steph and I were growing up we fantasized about who our father could be.  We were better off not knowing.”
After a prolonged awkward moment of silence Christopher spoke, “He’s an asshole.”  Christopher stood.  “Well, it’s been great seeing you again Janet…say hi to your equally gorgeous sister for me, would you?  We need to double date some time, maybe tear it up on Sixth?”
“I’d love that…you have my number.”
Fuck, even I had her number, I thought with a snort.  I must have actually snorted because both of them turned to look at me.
She held her arms out, and he gave her a hug.  A professional yet personal lip-on-lip kiss happened, and I could see Janet’s arms pull him closer to her.
“It was nice to meet you Janet,” I spoke up in order to shorten Christopher’s time in her grip.
Janet looked over and smiled as she released him.  “Yes…of course. It was great to meet you, Kiley.”
“It’s Killeen,” I corrected her with an equally insincere smile.
“Thanks, Janet.  I’ll let you know what we find out…bye.”  Christopher waved as we headed out the door.
  Once in the car, I couldn’t get the body language and familiarity between Christopher and Janet out of mind.  It wasn’t any of my business, but I just had to ask as Christopher sped along the interstate heading back to the office.  “How long did you and Janet date?  I mean, was it serious?”
Christopher’s eyes darted toward me, then back on the road as he cleared his throat.  “Date?  We went out a couple of times…”
“After the case was over?”
He hesitated.  “Technically, no.  I know…I know…conflict of interest.  She was hot…I was young.  Okay?”
What else could I say without seeming like I was jealous?  Which, I was surprised to realize, I was.
“Today was the first time I’ve seen her in years…she still looks the same, though.”
“So, are you going to call her?”  Oh God, had I said that out loud?  I need to re-adjust my filters.
The car quickly sped up as we exited the interstate and Christopher took the U-turn lane to reverse direction on the interstate.  He looked in the mirror and exhaled deeply.
THE BLURB
An inheritance brought her more than she ever could have imagined…
Killeen Ames had it all…beauty, brains, a college scholarship, a rich and handsome boyfriend.  Then she found out she was pregnant and the boyfriend disappeared and the scholarship is in jeopardy.  A stranger arrives at her door with the news that a father she had never known had died and she was his heir.
But not his only heir.  She and four half-siblings meet for the first time and learn the shocking details of a popular music star who had been their father and Scandals, the private investigation agency he has left them.
Killeen’s decision is further complicated when she meets the totally irresistible manager of Scandals.  Her attraction to him is immediate and volatile, but she knows they have no future.  She has a secret she can’t share.
Someone doesn’t want them to stay and take over the business.  In fact, someone wants them all dead.  Their lives depend on whether or not they can figure out who he is and how to stop him before he succeeds.
THE AUTHOR
Kathy Clark has 23 women’s fiction/romance novels with sales over 3 million copies in more than 10 languages and have been on the New York Times’ bestsellers’ list and won her numerous awards.
In September 2012 she went Indie and launched a new suspense series, Denver After Dark.  Book #1, After Midnight.  Voted The Best Indie Suspense of 2013 and won a prestigious Readers’ Favorite Suspense Award in 2013, book #2, Cries in the Night followed in October, 2013.
Also in 2012 Kathy teamed up with her husband Bob Wernly to write a Young Adult Time Travel Mystery/Romance series called CUL8R (See You Later) under the pen name of Bob Kat.  Book #1 OMG (Oh My God), when they go back to 1966 to save a girl’s life, was released in October, 2012 and was named as the Best Indie Young Adult Suspense of 2013 and was a Beverly Hills Book Awards finalist.  Book #2 BRB (Be Right Back), when they travel back to 1980, recently won a Readers’ Favorite Young Adult Award in 2013.  Book #3 BION (Believe It Or Not), when they go back to 1927 and join a circus to save a boy, was released in July, 2013.  They also teamed and wrote a fictionalized version of Bob’s fraternity days at Kent State University in 1970.  The mixture drama of senior year, military draft lottery to supply the Vietnam war and the Kent State shootings.  This novel was named as a finalist in the Best Indie Mainstream Book of 2013 Awards.
Their New Adult series Scandals, kicks off the book #1, Baby Daddy in November, 2013.
Leave a Reply

