BABY DADDY Looking For Eyes

Yes, it is time to start seeking out readers of suspense, romantic suspense and new adult romance who would like a free book in exchange for a review posted to Amazon in support of our 11/18/2013 release.

Tonight we’re putting the final touches on the first book in the New Adult [NA] fiction series SCANDALS.  Book #1, titled BABY DADDY.  The planned cover is below:

SCANDALS BABY DADDY 10282013 

We have a list of people who have agreed to read the “galley proof” and provide reviews on other novels in the past and we will be reaching out and emailing them directly when it is ready to go to see if they interest this time.

However we are also extending that same offer to all those who are connected with us on Facebook, Google+ and Twitter.  The galley proof serves as some advance publicity but more importantly it is a means for us to acquire reviews on Amazon and Goodreads after the planned release date of November 18th.  We can provide the galley proof in mobi, epub or PDF formats.

Now…a little about the series and book #1, BABY DADDY.  The New Adult genre has been gaining visibility and its own set of rules over the past two to three years and it is in recognition that readers don’t move from reading teen books to adult books overnight or over a long weekend.  The 18 to 26 year old population has a unique perspective on life and relationships can be complicated and twisted by life at college and on the job.  This book is written in first person and is told from the point of view of one of the main female characters, Killeen Ames.  Other books in the series will be written from other points of view but I’m sure you’ll find Killeen engaging, independent, smart, gutsy and funny. 

 

So what exactly could you be getting into?

BABY DADDY is a full blown suspense with an underlying romance.  One day when SCANDALS hits the big screen it likely will be R Rated…maybe PG-17.  17 year olds aren’t yet “New Adults” but everyone is moving faster right?

Here’s the summary that will be on the back of the book.  We have posted the first paragraph of the first chapter for your further consideration.  In another blog post later this week the entire first chapter will be in the blog  When you feel compelled to grab the book and help with an early and honest review you will can get your galley proof by emailing Kathy@nightwriter93.com.

 

Killeen Ames had it all…beauty, brains, a college scholarship, a rich and handsome boyfriend.  She found out she is pregnant…now the boyfriend has disappeared and the scholarship is in jeopardy.  An attorney arrives at her door with an offer she can’t refuse.

She walks into the meeting and is surprised to find out that her real father had been a popular music star who is now dead.  Even more shocking is the four strangers who share the same absentee dad.  He has left them a highly successful private investigation agency, Scandals.  The catch is…they have to make the commitment to work there. 

It’s a difficult choice for them to make…leave their old jobs, schools and lives and run the agency.  Killeen’s decision is further complicated when she meets the totally irresistible manager of Scandals.  Her attraction to him is immediate and volatile, but she knows they have no future.  She has a secret she can’t share. 

But there is a darker side to their dilemma.  Someone is determined that they not get their inheritance.  In fact, someone wants them all dead.  Should they run back to their safe lives or should they stay and try to stop a killer…before he kills them? 

 

Here’s the first few paragraphs…

CHAPTER ONE

“He left me with two empty DVD cases, a pair of worn-out Nikes and a plus sign on my pee stick.”  I laid my head back on the couch and stared up at the ceiling.  I haven’t had a drink for weeks since I found out.  This whole thing would be a pretty interesting country and western song if it wasn’t about me…oh yeah wait what the fuck was I thinking…it is about me!  He peed all over me and made a positive impression on my pee stick.  Too wordy to be the song title…maybe the refrain?  God!  This really sucks.  He sure didn’t take the news very well last night.  I rubbed my eyes but the view didn’t change.  Neither did I.  This can’t be happening to me!

Brandon was the only guy I’ve ever gone past second base with in my life.  He told me he always used protection.  Did the protection fail or was I just lazy and didn’t bother to check if he lied to me in the heat of the moment?  Why would he lie to me about that anyway?  I can’t believe I trusted him with my entire future.  That bastard!

I stared at the outside door that lead to the parking lot.  I can still hear Brandon yell at me as he threw the door open after everyone had left the party.  The door knob hole is still in the wall.  “That baby is your problem Killeen, not mine.  I paid the apartment up through the end of July so leave it clean…I want my security deposit back.”  What an ass!  Last night was no time to be mean to me, it’s not like it was my fault.  I didn’t do this by myself asshole!  I picked the small terracotta donkey statue we bought in Mexico last summer out from under the party debris in front of me on the coffee table and threw it full speed at the steel door.  Strike three! Reminded me of my first base throw whenever a runner took too big a lead trying to steal second base.  Two seasons zero steals.  That puppy really shattered so I looked around for anything else available at arm’s length.  All the beer bottles had beer left in them and I still have to live here for a few weeks so I set the bottle back down on the table.

Clean the apartment?  He didn’t lift a fucking finger yesterday as I vacuumed and dusted every square inch of his shit apartment.  I had put every one of the congratulations banners up for his graduation party. Every one!  Now that I think about it I think I cleaned his apartment more often that he did.  I fought back the tears again.  Last night was to be really special for us.  His graduation party and our pregnancy.  I’m just glad I was smart enough to not announce it at the party.  His reaction made me think I hardly knew him after two years of dating.  I even spent Christmas and New Year’s Eve at his family’s house with him last year.  I mean that was pretty serious stuff isn’t it?  I started to cry again and the sleeves of my tee shirt were growing damper with each minute that passed.

 

Don;t be fooled…this isn’t girl book…it is more like these two books only dealing with 19 to 26 year old college and post college kids with some seriously disrupted family histories.

AFTER MIDNIGHT REVISEDCRIES IN THE NIGHT 09012013

Leave a Reply

