Another day…another excerpt for you! Angels Series, Angel Of Mercy

Hello…I’m Kathy Clark, author.  Welcome back to my blog site.

Some of you may remember me from long ago…like last century…when traditional publishers such Harlequin published my romance novels and printed them on paper and sold them through bookstores! No?  Maybe you have purchased one of my more recent novels that were released in 2012 and 2013.  No doubt my over 3 million in sales worldwide in paperback were one measure and one cause of the popularity of my new books.  And yes, they’re digital and trade paperback.

Today, I write my Romantic Suspense series, Denver After Dark under my name Kathy Clark and the young adult mystery series, CUL8RTM [See you later] under the pseudonym of Bob Kat.  CUL8RTM is co-written with my husband Bob Wernly.  Starting this fall, the New Adult Romantic Suspense series, Scandals, will be under Kathy Clark.

I am going to take space in this blog to publish excerpts from my romance novel back list to provide as they say, a deeper cut, into the stories beyond the samples provided by Amazon.  I did this last weekend at the virtual eBook Fair and I got great feedback to do more of this. So I will.  Readers rule!

Thank you for stopping…each blog post will have-

  • The summary of the featured book
  • The excerpt from that book
  • A summary of my recent books
  • All the links needed  to find additional information including how to order any of the books

Best wishes,

Kathy Clark

Bob Kat tile

ANGEL OF MERCY 062913 amazon

What do you do when the choice you made was the wrong one? During the war, Jeff Hawkins’s tenderness had been nurse Angela’s sanctuary from the horrors of Vietnam, and his passion had been their salvation.

But Jeff had been wounded long before a bullet brought him to the EVAC hospital. Fearless, with nothing to lose, Jeff was the kind of soldier to whom they awarded Purple Hearts . . . posthumously.

Years later, when he encountered Angela again at a veterans’ reunion, she could no longer pretend that the madness of war had triggered their brief, all-consuming alliance.

Could they have a second chance? Or had she forfeited any claim to Jeff’s love when she did the unforgivable . . . married his best friend? Not all wounds are visible . . . and not all wounds can be healed by the soft touch of a nurse’s hands. But Angela knew he was worth fighting for . . . and Jeff was tired of fighting.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: This book burst full blown from a dream. I loved writing every word and had a great time picking the perfect songs to open each chapter. ASCAP wouldn’t let me use the words without paying a gazillion dollars in royalties, so I chose titles that would invoke the mood and atmosphere of each chapter that followed. Angela and Hawk were such wonderful, but heart-breaking characters. He was a great hero, and she was the perfect person to help him heal. This was the final book in the ANGEL trilogy, with KISSED BY AN ANGEL and PHANTOM ANGEL preceding it. I lived with them for years, and I will truly miss having them in my daily thoughts.

AWARDS: Winner of the “ROMANTIC TIMES” Reviewer’s Choice Award for Series Romance.

Finalist in the Romance Writers of America Golden Choice Award.

EXCERPT

She felt his hands loosen their hold, but he didn’t release her. Nor did his expression of skepticism and disapproval change.

“Craig wanted the same things out of life as I did,” she went on. “He had plans to attend law school and he knew where he was going and what he wanted out of life.” She gave a mirthless chuckle. “Which is funny, because I thought I did, too.”

“Did your life turn out like you planned?”

“Does anyone’s?”

“Mine didn’t.”

“Yours turned out better,” she pointed out.

“I was lucky,” he repeated. “I got a second chance when I needed it the most.”

“Your guardian angel must have had to work awfully hard. Who would have guessed you’d end up here, at the top of the world as a country rancher?”

“There are a few things I wish that angel would have done differently,” he commented with a tinge of regret. His hands slid up and down her arms in an unconsciously sensual caress.

The emotionally charged atmosphere in the room had undergone a subtle change. Angela noticed the nearness of her body to Jeff’s had become intimate rather than comforting. From the blue flames that leaped to life in his eyes, she could tell that Jeff had suddenly realized the same thing. But he didn’t move away.

“You and I had some good times together. I’ll never forget the first time I saw you, rushing over and pushing me back into bed. I couldn’t see your eyes, but I heard your voice and I smelled your perfume.” He breathed an almost wistful sigh. “From then on, I didn’t even have to open my eyes to know when you were standing next to me. To this day, I can walk past a perfume counter and pick it out.” He leaned closer, and drew in an experimental breath. “You don’t wear it anymore.”

Angela was caught off guard by his confession. “No, I’ve changed perfumes several times since then. It was sort of an extravagance to wear perfume to the hospital, but the men told me they liked to smell something fresh and feminine for a change. Wind Song was very popular in the sixties, but I haven’t worn it in years. I didn’t even realize they still sold it. I’m surprised that you remembered.”

“I remembered,” he confirmed, his voice growing husky. Threading his fingers through her hair, he added, “I also remember how soft your hair was and how it used to tickle my chin when we danced.” He lifted a thick strand and let it trickle into place. “You’ve let it grow. I like it longer.”

Angela wasn’t certain how the conversation had turned in such a disturbing direction. She hadn’t been comfortable with the previous discussion, but it hadn’t caused her heart to race. Her hands curved around the back of his neck, her fingers tunneling through the hair that curled over the collar of his shirt. “Thanks. Yours is longer, too,” she commented. “The last time I saw you, you barely had enough hair to comb.”

“You know what else I remember?” he persisted, letting the palm of one of his hands cup her cheek, drawing her face closer to his.

“No, what?” she answered in a breathy whisper, knowing he was going to kiss her. The words “second chance” kept repeating in her mind, keeping rhythm with the increased tempo of her heartbeat.

His lips were so near, she could feel the gentle brush of them against hers as he said, “I remember how sweet you tasted, and the little sounds you made when we made love. And I remember thinking my luck had changed when that VC bullet sent me to the hospital and into the tender loving care of a beautiful angel of mercy.”

Angela repeated weakly, “We were both just kids …” His mouth moved across hers tenderly, teasingly. “And we were living with life and death every day …” The tip of his tongue outlined her lips, leaving a moist, heated trail. “Things weren’t real …”

One hand still curled around the back of her head, offering it the support her neck seemed strangely incapable of providing at the moment, while his other hand slid to the small of her back, pulling her against him.

“Tell me again that you cared about me,” he murmured, his breath hot against her mouth.

Her body was pressed to his, intimately molding the softness of her curves against his hard contours from thigh to chest. His desire was evident, and its boldness intensified the ache that was building within her. For several seconds, his lips silenced hers with a kiss so urgent and hungry that her legs almost buckled beneath her.

“Tell me you thought about me at least a couple of times in the past few years,” he insisted in a low, almost taunting tone. But the slight tremble in his voice told her that in spite of his attempt to minimize her response, her answer was very important to him. It was almost as if he was holding his breath, waiting, wanting, needing to know that at least one person would have been sorry if he had died.

“Yes,” she breathed, anxious for him to kiss her again. “You were very special to me. I wanted you to get well, but I hated that you would recover and be sent out again instead of going home to safety.” His face was so close she couldn’t see him clearly, but his sexy, masculine scent filled the parts of her senses that weren’t already drugged by his provocative barrage. His tactics had broken down her defenses, leaving her eagerly waiting for the final charge.

“But did you forget me the minute you left ‘Nam?” he inquired with urgent persistence.

Her arms tightened around his neck and she heard him groan at the pleasure of her breasts rubbing against him. “I could never forget you,” she assured him. “Even after Craig told me you were dead, you were always in my thoughts.”

“Well, I, for one, am glad he was wrong.”

She glanced over his shoulder at the lengthening shadows outside the windows. Unable to hide her disappointment and regret, she sighed. “It’s getting dark. I suppose we’re going to have to leave soon or we won’t make it back tonight.”

“We could stay.”

I hope you enjoyed this sample from my book.  All of my romance novels are available individually as eBooks on amazon and they have also been republished as Romance Collections with similar books in their original full length and unabridged.  The Romance Collections are at a reduced price and available by going to http://astore.amazon.com/nightwriter93-20

Here are a few important links for your use.  Have a great rest of your day.  Again…thanks for stopping.

My author’s website is at http://www.nightwriter93.com

To order any book on Amazon go to http://astore.amazon.com/nightwriter93-20

To contact me my email address is info@nightwriter93.com

Recent books:

AFTER MIDNIGHT REVISED

Romantic Suspense series:           After Midnight, a Denver After Dark Suspense      Book #1

What started as a routine contact stop turned into a brutal double homicide.  Hooker to lover or low-life to no-life. It’s all in his hands.

OMG eBook 3

Young Adult Mystery series:          OMG, A CUL8RTM Time Travel Mystery      Book #1

Albert Einstein said about time travel “People like us, who believe in physics, know that the distinction between past, present and future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion.”

BRB eBook Cover 2

Young Adult Mystery series:         BRB, A CUL8RTM Time Travel Mystery     Book #2

It’s difficult to investigate a crime that hasn’t happened yet.

 

Life's What Happens is a New Adult Romance for ages 18 to 25 and beyond.

Life’s What Happens is a New Adult Romance for ages 18 to 25 and beyond.

New Adult Romance:                   LIFE’S WHAT HAPPENS

How did one night change over a million lives of new adults forever?

TUTORIAL: OMG = Oh My God, BRB = BE Right Back

All four books are available on Amazon at http://astore.amazon.com/nightwriter93-20

Additional details on the CUL8RTM time travel series is at http://www.cul8rseries.com

 

2013 Awards

After Midnight, a Denver After Dark Suspense

First place in the Best Indie Book of 2013 for suspense

Finalist in the Reader’s Choice 2013 Award  for young adult [9/1 final decision]

OMG, A C CUL8RTM Time Travel Mystery

First place in the Best Indie Book of 2013 for young adult

Finalist in the Beverly Hills Book 2013 Awards for young adult

BRB, A CUL8RTM Time Travel Mystery

Named finalist in the Reader’s Choice 2013 Award  [9/1 final decision]

Life’s What Happens

Finalist in the Best Indie Book of 2013 for literature

TUTORIAL: BION =Believe It Or Not

CURRENT PROJECTS

BION eBook 1

BION, A CUL8RTM Time Travel Mystery [Bob Kat]

Estimate a July 28, 2013 release

Cries In The Night, a Denver After Dark Suspense [Kathy Clark]

Estimate a October 1, 2013 release

Scandals, a New Adult Romantic Suspense [Kathy Clark]

Set in Austin, Texas

Estimate a December 1, 2013 release

Check the progress on this blog or Kathy’s website at http://www.nightwriter93.com

Leave a Reply

